Our next momentous match from the Video Vault involves the Bulls in a dramatic FA Cup First Round tie against Shrewsbury Town which took place on Saturday, 3rd of November 2012 with a lunchtime kick-off.

Many Hereford supporters were hoping the Bulls could overcome a Shrewsbury side managed by the former Edgar Street Director of Football, Graham Turner.

Indeed, Turner included five ex-Hereford players in the Shrews line up; Rob Purdie, Chris Weale, Darren Jones, Lee Collins and Paul Parry all started against their former colleagues.

However, the Bulls took charge of the match and in front of an enthusiastic crowd of 3,251 made it comfortably through to the Second Round. This mainly thanks to the performance of striker Ryan Bowman who led the line magnificently, helping himself to two goals as Hereford triumphed.

Will Evans put the Bulls in front after only three minutes. O’Keefe swung over a corner which was partially cleared but McQuilkin clipped it back into the danger area for Todd to nod down into the path of Evans. His firm strike was accurate enough to get past Weale from 10 yards.

Nine minutes later, United were two up. Goalkeeper Bittner found Bowman with a long clearance. After decent chest control he turned and ran at the Shrews defence before unleashing a powerful 25 yards shot that flew into the back of the visitors net. However, Summerfield sparked thoughts of a Shrewsbury revival with a fierce free-kick on the half-hour mark after Pell had been penalised for a foul just outside the box.

The tie was won in the second-half as Bowman got in front of Collins who clumsily brought down the Bulls’ top scorer thus winning a penalty. Bowman cheekily dinked the spot-kick past a bewildered Weale at the Meadow End who roared out “Turner, Turner, what’s the score!”

Hereford: Bittner, Gallinagh, Todd, Stam, Heath, Clucas (Clist 90), Evans, Pell, O’Keefe (Graham 87), McQuilkin (Smikle 67), Bowman. Subs not used: Hanford, Marsh, Perry.

Shrewsbury: Weale, Grandison, Jones, Collins, Summerfield, Purdie, Taylor, Hall (Wildig 85), Parry, Helan (Proctor 69), Morgan. Subs not used: Anyon, Jacobson, Wright, Richards, Gornell.

Attendance: 3,251

By Editor

Lifelong Hereford supporter who has endured the rise and fall of the club through progressive generations. Sports journalist, broadcaster and commentator who will never forget his Edgar Street roots.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.